SioTeX® won the $10,000 Grand Prize at the 2014 American Chemical Society (ACS) Green Chemistry Institute (GCI) Business Plan Competition. The competition took place at the 18th Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference in Bethesda, Maryland, on 18 June. This business plan competition was dedicated to green chemistry and engineering and focused on sustainability-oriented entrepreneurship. The teams received scores on their business plans and presentations in addition to a score for social media. ACS GCI created a crowd funding opportunity were converted to votes. The site raised $3,105 in funds. SioTeX received over $2,300 in donations, accounting for approximately 75% of the total votes for the social media component.

The SioTeX team also recently competed at the 14th Annual Rice Business Plan Competition (RBPC), where they won the Texas HALO Fund Investment Prize, first place in the Challenge Round Flight, and was runner-up for the Center for the Advancement of Science in Space (CASIS) International Space Station (ISS) National Lab Space Flight Prize. Additionally, the team was acknowledged as the most engaged in social media activity during the RBPC competition.

siotex team members holding acs garnd prize giant check Ash Kotwal Dr. Gary Beall Lisa Taylor

SioTeX will produce and distribute Eco-Sil, an environmentally friendly triple green alternative to fumed silica. Eco-Sil is manufactured from rice hulls, a renewable resource. Target markets include paints, plastics, and tires. Fumed silica sales currently account for $1.5 billion in annual sales.

SioTeX was formed in December 2013 and is built around commercializing a technology developed by Dr. Haoran Chen in the Materials Science, Engineering, and Commercialization (MSEC) PhD Program at Texas State University. Dr. Chen formed the team which includes Marcus Goss, COO, Ash Kotwal, VP of Manufacturing, and Lisa Taylor, VP of Sales & Marketing. The team is led by George Steinke, CEO, an experienced entrepreneur and strategic manager. SioTeX is also supported by its board of directors, including Dr. Gary Beall (holder of 48 patents), and Jamie Rhodes (an accredited investor and entrepreneur). For more information, please contact George Steinke at 830 660 1411 or via email at


siotex team doing fist pump Cesar Rivera Lisa Taylor Ash Kotwal Haoran Chen Marcus Goss

Team members presented in Houston to the Houston Angel Network (HAN). The presentation was well received, and the team made many new connections while generating strong investor interest. David Steakley of the Texas HALO Fund gave a great introduction for SioTeX. Rob Tucci, Ross Crawford, Victor Elgohary, and Andrew Clark were in attendance and very supportive. Marcus Goss spoke with representatives of CASIS. Marcus reported that Ed Harris invited SioTeX to meet with him and his team over lunch to assist with the development of ideas for experimentation of Eco-Sil on the ISS.

Marcus also talked with Ken Leseur, HAN member and former CEO of Halliburton Energy Services, who had some great questions and good insights. The stopped by OVS Group, to thank Larry Denver, President, for his team donation to ACS and votes for SioTeX. Mr. Denver and Marcus had a detailed technical conversation about Eco-Sil as well as rubber composite materials used in the oil and gas industry. Additionally, Mr. Denver communicated the SioTeX information to other investors. George also spoke with Jose Alvarez, OVS Chairman and serial entrepreneur, about sharing the opportunity with even more investors. The presentation at HAN provided incredible exposure and was an exciting experience.


We greatly appreciate your support. Special thanks go out to everyone that donated and voted for SioTeX on to help us win the ACS GCI Business Plan Competition.

Sophie T
Marcus Goss
Marcelo Rivera
Yvonne Rivera
Tommy Torres
Jordan Rivera
Johnny Torres
Rick Rothwell
Sophia Darwich
Becky Norman

George Steinke
Linda Doster
Hillary Kotwal
Ash Kotwal
Carolyn Goss
Tex Speed
Austynn Imming
Gloria Imming
Gary Beall
Larry Denver

Irene Rivera
Steve & Randi
Mahdi Martin
Papa Louis
Mary Love
Micah B
John Clowers
Zoila Clowers
Heather Cody
Cody Doster

Wes G
Aaron Taylor
Gary & Kathy T
Haoran Chen
Shelly Weiser
Lindsey Tyner
Justin Farmer
Lisa Blonkvist
Daryl Shaper
Nicole Moss